Aventra MyEID to be certified according to Common Criteria EAL4+


Aventra, a leading provider of secure identity solutions, has announced that their MyEID PKI Smart Card applet will be certified according to Common Criteria EAL4+. The preparation and important additional feature development towards the certification process began in 2021 and is now in progress. After certification, PKI Smart Card powered by Aventra MyEID applet will provide customers with additional certified features and security. 


The certification process includes a third-party evaluation by an accredited Common Criteria Test Laboratory (CCTL). Once the CCTL has completed the evaluation cycles of technical tests and fulfils the requirements,  a certification body will review and approve the evaluation cycle reports to certify the MyEID Smart Card applet. This certification process is significant because it provides an independent and internationally recognized validation of the security of the MyEID PKI Smart Card applet. 

Common Criteria EAL 4: Methodically designed, tested, and reviewed product

The Common Criteria guidelines were produced from pre-existing security standards to evaluate products against one set of criteria. These security standards were developed by the governments of Canada, France, Germany, the Netherlands, the UK, and the USA. 

The Common Criteria has Evaluation Assurance Levels (EAL)  1-7, with EAL 4+ being the chosen level for the MyEID PKI Smart Card applet. This level means the applet is methodically designed, tested, and reviewed. EAL 4+ level ensures the applet is evaluated against stringent criteria to ensure the highest levels of security. 

After the MyEID PKI Smart Card applet has been certified to CC EAL4+, it will undergo a conformity assessment to comply with the eIDAS regulation. 

What is eIDAS regulation?

The eIDAS regulation ensures that people and businesses can use their national electronic identification schemes (eIDs) to access public online services in other EU countries. It also creates a European internal market for trust services by ensuring they will work across borders and have the same legal status as their traditional paper-based equivalents. 

In conclusion, the MyEID PKI Smart Card applet certification, according to Common Criteria EAL4+, is a significant milestone for us at Aventra and our customers. It provides customers with security assurance in a PKI Smart Card powered by Aventra MyEID applet, preventing attacks against vulnerability. 


Learn more about MyEID >

Learn more about Common Criteria > 

Learn more about EAL levels > 

Related blog articles